HISTORY OF WHITEVILLE METHODIST CHURCH

Compiled by Kate B. Lyon, 1944

The earliest records available tell us that in 1845 there was an organization of the Methodist Episcopal Church in Whiteville, but we do not know exactly when it was organized. It had a small membership and was in the Smithville (Southport) circuit of the South Carolina Conference. The circuit consisted of the following churches: Wayman, Smithville, Woodside, Hewletts, Horeb, Hopewell, Rehoboth, Zion, Myrtle Branch, Hood's Creek, Bethel, Union, Shiloh, Liberty Chapel, Whiteville, Duncan's, Swindalls, Thrift Springs, Bladen Springs, Carver's Creek, am Galaways - 21 churches. Preachers were usually single men and they received about \$150.00 per year.

In 1851 the First Quarterly Conference was held in Whiteville.

In 1852 the upper part of the District was transferred to the North Carolina Conference and was known as Whiteville circuit. It was composed of Whiteville, Swindalls, Duncan's, Bladen Springs, Carver's Creek, Wayman, Union, Shiloh, Liberty, and McNeils. Whiteville assessment was \$51.00 for the year.

The First Quarterly Conference was held at Carver's Creek. Rev. James Reed was Presiding Elder. There was a resolution introduced to collect funds for a district parsonage.

At the Fourth Quarterly Conference, 1852, Calvin Haynes was authorized by the Conference *to sell the church and lot upon which the church is built in Whiteville for as much as he can obtain for same."

The Parsonage Committee reported that \$420.00 has been subscribed and stated that a lot with a small house on it could be bought in Whiteville and Calvin Haynes was authorized to buy or build a house for a parsonage.

These statements brought to light the fact that the present church building was not the original Methodist Church, and upon investigation it was found that the first Methodist Church building was on a lot near where Mr. Lawrence E. Harrelson now lives, (located near intersection of Wyche and Lee Streets) and a lot was bought near there for a parsonage, though no house was ever built there.

At the First Quarterly Conference in 1853 the subject of Missions was brought before the Conference and the "cent a week" plan was recommended and adopted by the Conference. For Missions \$56.00 was collected and \$31.32 was raised for Conference collections. There were no Sunday Schools in the District.

In 1854 the Presiding Elder was paid \$40.00.Rev. Chaffin, the preacher, was paid \$425.00 and Rev. McRea, assistant preacher, \$100.00 and the circuit raised for missions \$102.00. Calvin Haynes resigned as Steward and David Smith was elected to fill his place.

In 1860 Carson Parker was preacher in charge and D. B. Nicholsen, Presiding Elder.

The records of the Third Quarterly Conference, 1860, state that the following members were elected July 7, 1860, as Trustees for the new church edifice at Whiteville, to hold and dispose of the property of the same viz: David Smith, James Smith, S. W. Smith, K. K. Council, A. G. Harrelson. Also the following members were appointed building committee: James Smith, David Smith, R. Pridgen, the present church probably being built about that time (1869-70).

Catalle

William (rook Smithville Ct. 1845-46 Simpson Tones 1847 J. R. Pickett 1848 Swithwill Mission G.W. Moore, J. P. Hughes 1849 Noute Caretine Conference Son, Mille William 1850 Collian J. Langdon, J. M. Felton J. W. Tucker whiteselle 1851 whitesville 6.5. Chattin 1852

Mr. Alexander Carter drew the plans for the church. The lot was bought from the widow of Col. Alfred Smith. (Deed shows it was bought fune 1870 from Mrs. Margret P. Smith of Craven County for \$125.00). Col. Maultsby was one of the largest contributors. Rev. Charles Deems was Presiding Elder in 1861 and Thomas J. Gattis, preacher. On account of the war, the two Sabbath Schools had been closed.

A Sabbath School was organized in Whiteville in 1864 by Rev. J. H. Dally and Kenneth Haynes was the first superintendent.

At the Third Quarterly Conference in 1865 a resolution was passed thanking Brother David Smith for the liberal gift to the M. E. Church, South, of a parcel of ground near Whiteville to be used as a burying ground.

In 1868 Rev. L. S. Burkhead was Presiding Elder and R. P. Bibb, pastor. The Pastor's report to the Quarterly Conference says there are in the Circuit 400 white members and 370 colored members. At the Second Quarterly Conference Kenneth Haynes, William M. Baldwin, Col. J. A. Maultsby, Forney George, Dr. Issac Jackson, H. C. Moffitt and H. C. Rockwell were elected Trustees for the church at Whiteville.

In 1876 the Trustees for Whiteville report the church in good condition, title fully secured and no debt.

In 1880 the following churches were on the charge: Wayman, Carver's Creek, Shiloh, Whiteville, Smith's, Cerro Gordo, and Peacocks. H. C. Moffitt, E. J. McRackan, Dr. Isaac Jackson, and N. M. Culbreth were elected a parsonage bulding committee. J. W. Randall was preacher and Rev. L. S. Burkhead, Presiding Elder, serving his second four year term.

In 1881 Trustees of Church property report church property in Whiteville worth \$4,000, title fully secured, church building in need of paint.

The records in the old book end with 1883. Whiteville was made a station in 1893 and since that time pastors serving this charge are:

C.	W.	Smith	1894
W.	Н.	Townsend	1895
Α.	R.	Raven	1896-7-8-9
A.	S.	Barnes	1900-1-2-3
J.	F.	Draper	1904-5-6
Y.	E.	Wright	1907-8
D.	C.	Geddie	1909-10-11
J.	P.	Pate	1912-13-14-15
C.	M.	Lance	1916-17
J.	H.	Frizelle	1918-19-20
P.	D.	Woodall	1921-22
W.	C.	Merritt	1923
L.	В.	Pattishall	1924-25-26
J.	R.	Edwards	1927-28
W.	R.	Phipps	1929-30-31-32
J.	Α.	Martin	1933
J.	Н.	Miller	1934-35-36
0.	P.	Fitzgerald	1937-38-39
			1940
L.	٧.	Harris	1941-42
J.	C.	Chaffin	1942
D.	L.	Fouts	1943
L.	D.	Havman	1944-45-46-47

D.	A.	Clark	1948-49
P.	F.	Newton	1950-56
P.	0.	Lee	1956-62
Α.	D.	Byrd, Jr.	1962-66
Τ.	J.	Whitehead	1966-70
		es E. Sparks	1970-74
Pa	aul	W. Boone	1974-

First Methodist services were held in Henry Rockwells Store(located on the Court Square). Later Sunday School and services were held in the Court House. Col. John A. Maultsby bought Church lot and Kenneth Haynes built Church at our expense.

This was told to Mrs. Floyd Johnson by Mrs. J. Dow Maultsby. Alexander Carter drew plans and built church.