Webb's Chapel United Methodist Church

Sandy Bottom, N. C.



Enter to worship



Depart to service

75th Anniversary 1901—1976

CHURCH HISTORY

According to clippings from the Kinston Free Press Rev. James Webb organized and helped to build the church. Rev. Webb came to Kinston in the early 1800's. His old home is still standing near Morehead City on the old Webb estate. There is also a beautiful memorial window to him in Queen Street Methodist Church in Kinston, N. C.

Webbs Chapel Methodist Church was founded in 1901. The land on which it was built was given by J. H. Bunn, originally from Pitt County, and his wife, Hattie Fannie Croom. The deed was recorded August, 1901, page 506 Book 26, in the Lenoir County Register of Deeds, Kinston, N. C., to the following trustees: J. W. Grainger, J. H. Albritton and W. C. Croom. The church was named for the Rev. James Webb. He came by invitation and preached in the old school house while the church was being built in 1901. During this time the church was called Webbs Methodist Episcopal church.

Rev. D. H. Tuttle came and served as pastor during the building program and organized the church class which is now known as Sunday school. Rev. Tuttle was also assisted by the Rev. W. E. Brown in receiving members into the church.

The church was wired for electricity in 1930.

In 1938 the first Sunday school rooms were built and dedicated in memory of W. C. Croom.

Mrs. Eliza Croom gave the marble top table. The first musical instrument was an organ which was used until 1934 and then traded for a piano. In 1951 new pews and pulpit furniture was bought and the old coal stove was replaced by gas heaters. As the Sunday school membership increased it became necessary to move the church to the side of the cemetery to provide space for Sunday school rooms that were added to the rear of the church. At this time the vestibule and stained glass windows were added. Sanctuary renovations including aisle carpet and kneeling pads were installed in 1958. The tin roof was replaced in 1960 with asphalt shingles. In 1967 bath rooms and kitchen facilities were added. Electric heat and air conditioning replaced the gas heaters in the 1970's.

In the year 1960 the Methodist Men's Club was organized and continues to be very active. The Methodist Women, formerly Woman's Society of Christian Service, also is very active.

The church has been on the following charges: Dover, Seven Springs, Kinston, Pink Hill and Woodington-Webb. In 1974 the church went station.

CURRENT CHURCH OFFICERS

Trustees:

Robert Jarman	1976
James Grady	1976
Lindsey Dail	1977
William Davis	1977
Tommy Edwards	1978
Robert Davis	1978

Chairman Administrative Board:

James Grady

Treasurer:

Mrs. Mamie Ruth Jarman

Chairman of Finance Committee:

Ray Williams Sr.

Chairman Council of Ministries:

Mrs. Arendell Bryan

Church Lay Leader:

Giles Dail, Jr.

President United Methodist Women:

Mrs. Sue Grady

President United Methodist Men:

Billy Baker

Pastor:

Rev. F. G. Bryans

The following Bishops have served:

Coke Smith E. D. Mouzon
John C. Kilgo W. W. Peele
Warren A. Candler Paul N. Garber
U. V. W. Darlington Clare Purcell
Collins Denny W. T. Cannon

R. M. Blackburn

The following Presiding Elders and District Superintendents have served:

F. D. Swindell	J. C. Wooten
E. H. Davis	B. B. Slaughter
M. Bradshaw	H. H. King
R. F. Bumpass	A. J. Hobbs
J. E. Underwood	R. Grady Dawson
J. B. Hurley	Willis R. Stevens
F. M. Shamburger	Howard M. McLamb

Richard T. Commander

The following preachers have served:

James Webb	1901
D. H. Tuttle	1901
W. E. Brown	1901
Thomas W. Mansfield	1902
J. M. Caraway Carou	1902-1905
W. A. Forbes	1905-1906
W. F. Galloway	1906-1908
F. D. Swindell	1908-1909
F. S. Becton	1909-1911
R. R. Johnson	1911-1913
E. L. Hill	1913-1915
E. N. Harrison	1915-1917
Daniel Lane	1917-1918
L. M. Hall	1918-1919
J. R. Edwards	1919-1921
R. W. Barefield	1921-1924
K. S. I. Cooke	1924-1925
Sam Lefferts	1925-1927
J. W. Dimmette	1927-1928
W. J. Furman	1928-1930

LeRoy Harris	1930-1934
H. M. McLamb	1934-1939
R. L. Walston	1939-1942
Ralph Jolly	1942-1944
W. G. Lowe	1944-1945
W. B. Cotton	1945-1946
R. W. Goodchild	1946-1948
Tommie Horner	1948-1950
Daniel C. Boone	1950-1953
Walton N. Bass	1953-1957
Tracie Varnum	1957-1961
Virgil N. Moore	1961-1963
Henry F. Pollock	1963-1965
F. Gerald Peterson	1965-1967
John D. Long	1967-1970
Arthur G. Fisher	1970-1972
Billy Cuthrell	1972-1974
Francis G. Bryans	1974-

The following Church School Superintendents have served:

Albert Croom	Nellie J. Davis
W. C. Croom	Archie Davis
W. H. Haynes	Robert D. Jarman
J. R. Holland	Harold L. Dail
Cecil N. Stroud	John W. Bryan
Nelson Jarman	James E. Stroud

Archie Davis

The following are the Charter Members:

W. C. Croom	W. A. Moore
Mrs. W. C. Croom	Mrs. Dora Smith
Mrs. Rebecca Haynes	Mrs. R. E. Bland
Alexander Hill	Hardy Bryant Croom
R. E. Bland	Mrs. Rebecca Cauley
Albert Croom	Mrs. W. A. Moore
Mrs. Eliza Croom	Robert Blanchard

C. A. Heath