

A Brief History of the St. Pauls United Methodist Church

Founded 1909
SAINT PAULS, NORTH CAROLINA

Published on the occasion of the celebration of the Seventieth Anniversary

November 11, 1979



ST. PAULS UNITED METHODIST CHURCH Built in 1919

A BRIEF HISTORY OF SAINT PAULS UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

Compiled by J. Herman Brisson

In 1908, a small group of Methodists who lived in Saint Pauls began to hold prayer services. In the absence of a meeting place, they were permitted to use the Presbyterian Church. Their first meetings were held in the afternoons. The group grew, and in order to have preaching services, when a visiting minister was available, they moved to the two-story frame school building on West Broad Street.

The Reverend Mr. Hoyle, pastor of Chestnut Street Methodist Church in Lumberton, gave spiritual guidance and much unselfish service in organizing the church at a time when such help was most needed.

The Annual Conference of 1909 assigned the Reverend S. J. Mc-Connell to Saint Pauls on a part-time basis to help organize the church and minister to the people. In the early summer of this same year, the group erected a bush arbor on Broad Street just opposite the present location of Nationwide Insurance. Here the Saint Pauls Methodist Church was organized with the following as charter members: Phillip Odum, Annie Odum, S. B. Culbreth, Viola Culbreth, John Honeycutt,

Bessie Honeycutt, Percy R. Lowry, Ada Dunn, Charles W. Jones, Luther H. Adcox, Hattie Adcox, John W. Tew, Lucy Tew, Hugh M. Parham.

A Sunday School was organized and began to meet regularly in the afternoon. All the children in the village attended this afternoon Sunday School. It is said that this was the largest Sunday School in town.

Meetings were held under the bush arbor until cold weather and then moved to the home of a member, Percy R. Lowry. There they continued to meet until the early part of 1910 when the first church was built. It was a small frame building which stood on the corner of Broad and Third Streets, which is the present site of the First Union National Bank. Brother McConnell was moved at the end of the Conference year 1910-1911. Membership was now 71.

The Annual Conference, in its November, 1911 session, moved Piney Grove Church to another charge and placed the Saint Pauls Church on the East Robeson Circuit. The Circuit consisted of Barkers, Regans, Smiths, and Saint Pauls. The Reverend A. J. Groves was appointed pastor. The parsonage was at Barkers Church. Brother Groves served as pastor from November, 1911 to December, 1915. Saint Pauls had now a membership of 121.

The Reverend L. H. Joyner served as pastor the following year. Thirty-two members were added to the church. He requested that provision be made for him to live in Saint Pauls and his request was granted. From that time the parstonage has been in Saint Pauls.

The Reverend A. S. Parker served the church from 1916 to 1918. At the close of his pastorate among us, the membership had grown to 184.

In December, 1918, the grand old man, George W. Starling, was assigned to the charge. He was one of the most faithful servants of the Lord to live and move among the people of Saint Pauls. Up to this time, the growth in membership had been gradual, but during his ministry the growth was phenomenal. A total of 165 members were added to the church. A larger church was now necessary and a move was made to secure funds and make preparations to build a new church. Donations and pledges soon amounted to \$20,000. The corner stone of the present church was laid in 1919.

The Reverend I. T. Poole followed Brother Starling and served the charge from December, 1922 to December, 1925. We remember him as a great Bible scholar. He taught a course in Bible at the local high school. Attendance to his class was voluntary and he had one of the largest classes in the school. His teaching had a profound influence upon all his students.

Many of the people who had moved to Saint Pauls during the first war moved away by 1925. The population of the town returned to normal and remained so for a number of years. The same was true of the membership of the church. Inflationary prices increased the cost of the new church to twice the amount anticipated. This large debt had to be paid off. Much credit and praise should go to the faithful souls who labored hard and long to retire the debt. As long as any church has such faithful members, surely, "the gates of hell shall not prevail against it." The debt was paid and the church was dedicated in the year 1941. Mr. C. H. Jones was pastor. Bishop Purcell led the dedication service.

The Annual Conference in 1953 was requested to make Saint Pauls a station. This was granted, and Regans and Barkers were placed on the Lumberton Circuit. The Reverend C. B. Harris was the first pastor of the new station.

Today, our church has a membership of 250, with the Reverend A. B. Falls as pastor. Two United Methodist ministers, now retired, are active in our congregation. They are the Rev. Tom House and the Rev. B. F. Meacham.

During the past year, our church has participated in many services for our church families and our community. These include our annual Lovefeast, held each Christmas Eve; a Lay Witness mission; the U. M. Women's annual spring bazaar and luncheon, held the first Saturday in May; a financial assistance of support to a missionary in Peru; and participation in support of the many projects and benevolences of the North Carolina Conference. Many visitors view the magnificent Chrismon tree erected in the sanctuary during Advent and Christmas.

The United Methodist Women have set aside a fund for the purchase of a new organ for the sanctuary, the present one having been in use for thirty years. Any and all gifts, honorariums or memorials, to this fund, are invited in the support of this project.

The church has an active adult choir, children's choir and handbell choir.

The youth participate in the U. M. Y. F. activities regularly.

Plans are in the making for our seventy-fifth anniversary in 1984. We invite everyone to return on a date to be announced, in that year, to help us celebrate again.

ROLL OF MINISTERS

| S. J. McConnell | 1909 - 11 |
|-----------------|-----------|
| A. J. Groves | 1911 - 15 |
| L. H. Joyner | 1915 - 16 |
| A. S. Parker | 1916 - 18 |
| G. W. Starling | 1918 - 22 |
| I. T. Poole | 1922 - 25 |
| J. H. Dailey | 1925 - 28 |
| J. B. Thompson | 1928 - 32 |
| R. R. Grant | 1932 - 33 |

| E. N. Harrison | | |
|-------------------------------------|-------------------|--|
| J. W. Harrell | | |
| A. C. Lee | | |
| C. A. Jones | | |
| O. L. Hathaway | | |
| M. Y. Self | | |
| B. F. Boone | 1948 - 52 | |
| C. B. Harris | | |
| H. R. Ashmore | 1955 - 59 | |
| A. L. Reynolds | 1959 - 62 | |
| A. G. Tyson | 1962 - 68 | |
| B. F. Meacham | 1968 - 76 | |
| Clarence Garner | 1976 - 78 | |
| A. B. Falls | 1978 | |
| ROLL OF OFFICERS - 1979 | | |
| The Rev. A. B. Falls | Minister | |
| Trustees | | |
| | TERM EXPIRES | |
| Ken Parker, Chairman | 1981 | |
| Claude Fulghum | 1981 | |
| Elsie Cameron | 1980 | |
| John Teal | 1980 | |
| Weldon Robinson | 1979 | |
| Ken Culberson | 1979 | |
| | | |
| Officers | | |
| Administrative Board Chairman | Claude Fulghum | |
| Council on Ministries Chairman | Iack Karshner | |
| Finance Chairman | Ken Culberson | |
| Church Treasurer | Peggy Allen | |
| Superintendent of the Church School | Dr. L. A. Cameron | |
| Superintendent of the Church School | Mildred Meacham | |
| U. M. Y. F. Counselor | Steve Regan | |
| Church Organist | Lauva Daniel | |
| Adult and Handbell Choir Director | Faison Powers | |
| Children's Choir Director | Bett Fulghum | |
| Lay Leader | Stephen Hall | |
| 170 A | | |