A BRIEF HISTORY OF ST. PAUL'S METHODIST CHURCH

In June 1943 a group of fifteen Methodists met in the Bame Hotel at Carolina Beach and determined to organize a Methodist Church on Carolina Beach on July 18, 1943. On that day the Carolina Beach Methodist Church was organized in the City Hall with 33 members. The Reverend E. W. Downum, pastor of the Federal Point Methodist Charge was appointed to serve as pastor of the newly organized church until the following Annual Conference. Worship services were held in the City Hall through November, 1943. At that time the congregation began to meet in a church building that was dismantled and moved to the present location from Delco. The first worship service was held in this building on December 12, 1943. On Mother's Day, May 13, 1945 the church building was dedicated and the name of the church changed to St. Paul's Methodist Church.

In 1946 an educational building was added to the existing building and a parsonage erected. The final payment was made on the parsonage debt on April 30, 1951.

Construction was begun on the new building in October 1958. The old sanctuary was sold for an amount of \$500 and cleared away. During the period from the first Sunday in October, 1958, through the first Sunday in May, 1959, worship services and church school classes were held in the Carolina Beach Public School Building. On May 10, 1959, the first worship service was held in the new building in the Fellowship Hall pending completion of the sanctuary. The first worship service in the new sanctuary was held on June 28, 1959. The loan for the new building was closed at \$30,000.

In 1961-62 several pews were given by some of our people as memorials. A lighted bulletin board was constructed on the church lawn and repairs made on the parsonage. A lot was sold for \$1475 and the money invested in an educational fund for college students. The construction of a new parsonage was completed early in 1963 after acceptance of a bid in the amount of \$12,914. The old parsonage was sold for \$1950 and moved from the church property.

Since last Homecoming Day the church has continued to move forward. Payments on the church and parsonage debts are being made on schedule. Our chief goal is to grow spiritually and to make a more effective witness in our community.

It would be impossible torname: the many loyal people who have been instrumental in the growth and progress of our church. Therefore we have not attempted to list them.

ST. PAUL'S METHODIST CHURCH

CHARTER MEMBERS

Mr. J. R. Bame
Mrs. J. R. Bame
Mr. J. C. Bame
Mr. Robert Bame
Mr. E. W. Bame
Mr. J. W. Bowden
Mrs. Minnie Bradley
Mrs. Louise Craig
Mr. H. J. Eaker
Mrs. H. J. Eaker
Miss Roberta Fields
Miss Florence Fields
Mr. L. E. Flack
Mrs. Cabrielle Flack
Mr. H. B. Griffin
Mrs. H. B. Griffin
Mrs. Katie B. Hines
Mrs. Walter Horne
Miss Lucy Horne
Dr. S. R. Jordan
Mrs. S. R. Jordan
Mr. Edwin Saunders Jordan
Mrs. Earl Jordan
Miss Margaret Lee Jordan
Mr. C. M. Kelly
Mrs. C. M. Kelly
Miss Margaret Ann Kelly
Mr. C. M. Kelly, Jr.

Mr. C. F. Lewis, Jr. Mr. Percy R. Mcrton Mrs. Annie B. Morton Mr. T. B. Schley Mrs. Virginia Schley Mr. M. A. Sly Mrs. M. A. Sly Miss Iris Sly Mr. S. C. Stanley Mrs. S. C. Stanley Miss Jeannine Stanley Mr. Floyd Stanley Mrs. Margrette Tanner Mr. J. B. Taylor Miss Mary Elizabeth Taylor Mrs. Ida L. Watson Mrs. Maude Weedon Mr. D. L. White Mr. Charlie Witherspoon Mrs. Charlie Witherspoon Mr. Basil Witherspoon Miss Ruth Witherspoon Mr. W. W. Bordeaux (Affiliate) Mrs. C. C. Funk (Affiliate) Mrs. A. L. Mansfield (Affiliate) Mrs. J. J. Starnes (Affiliate) Mr. J. C. Thompson (Affiliate) Mrs. J. C. Thompson (Affiliate)

MINISTERS

E. 1	W. Downum	1943	John S. Pearsall		
Pau:	l Carruth	1943-45	C. D. Roettger .		
J. :	Edwin Carter.	1945-49	Douglas L. Byrd		
	L. Harris		W. Jack Martin .		
	D. Hayman		Thomas O. Fulcher		1965-
W. I	M. Wells. Jr.	1954-57			