HISTORICAL STATEMENT ST.PAUL UNITED METHODIST CHURCH FELLOWSHIP CHARGE, ROCKINGHAM DISTRICT

St. Paul United Methodist Church began with brush-arbor services in 1880. A log cabin was soon built and land was deeded for the construction of a Methodist Church in 1883. The Church site is located about eight miles south of Rockingham on Sandhill Road, just off U.S. Highway #1. Adjacent to the Church building is a cemetery which is still being used and maintained.

The log cabin was used for four years until replaced by a larger building, which was begun in 1884 and which is still in use after Ninety one years.

Sunday School rooms have been added at two different times. Extensive repairs have been made over the years. Beautiful oak pews and Pulpit furniture were bought about twenty years ago. Stained glass windows were later put in the Sanctuary. In the past five years a gas furnace and air conditioning have been installed.

In 1975 the congregation bought about six acres of land adjoining the property for further expansion when needed. The present congregation has 165 members with regular Sunday Services, Sunday School, and United Methodist Women.

In the past ninety-one years St. Paul United Methodist Church has had twenty-nine pastors. Some of the charter members of this Church were: W.E. Crosland, J.K. Diggs, Thomas Diggs, H.J. Rogers, J.A. Harrington, Wayatt Cole, W.H. Roberts, and Thomas Green. The founders of the church has much work to do in getting things started but present. day members find plenty to do to keep what our forefathers started.

PASTORS OF ST. PAUL

L. Townsend	9. N.M. Wright	17. T.J. Strawbridge	25. Clyde Pierce
2. A.J. Groves	10. Leon Russell	18. C.A. Johnson	26. David McKay
3. N.L. Seabolt	ll. Mike Ellerbe (M.C.)	19. 0.C. Melton	27.Melvin Miller
4. B.E. Stanfield	12. B.F. Brandenburg	20. H.L. Rogers	28. John White
5. J.J. Barker	13. W.L. Dawson	21. Foster Jones	29. Brooks Patten
6. B.F. Watson	14. E.C. Crawford	22. Charles A.Young	
7. D.A. Clark	15. K.F. Duvall	23. A.E. Thompson	
§. Charles A. Jones	16. Lupton	24. David Jones	