By: Mrs.L.R.Sessoms-1956

The Powellsville Methodist Church was built in 1881. The site was purchased from J.B.Ruffin and Wife, Mary E.Ruffin, and Frank P.Askew of Bertie County for the sum of \$10.00. Deed duly recorded in the Court House in Windsor, North Carolina, by Edward P.Simons, William B.Cleaton, William H.Tayloe, Joseph Leary and W.W.Myers of Bertie County, and D.V. Sessoms, J.L.Jenkins and J.J.Scull of Hertford County.

Charter Members were William B.Cleaton, L.E.Cleaton, William H.Tayloe, Frances S.Tayloe, Lucy A.Britton, Kate Tayloe, D.V.Sessoms, Eliza Sessoms, J.B. Freeman, Bettie Bryan, Martha P. Sessoms, W.W.Powell, Sallie P.Casper, Sarah H. Myers and Lettie S.Gilliam.

When the church was organized, it was part of the Harrellsville Charge.

Near the turn of the century when the Rev. B.C. Thompson was pastor, the parsonage was moved from Harrellsville to Ahoskie and Powellsville was made a part of the Ahoskie Charge until November, 1948, when Ahoskie was made a station and Powellsville was then transferred to the Aulander Charge.

In 1954, Aulander and Colerain were made a two point charge; then Harrellsville, Powellsville, Union and Winton were merged into the Harrellsville Charge.

Pastors who have served the Powellsville Methodist Church are: J.E.Sparrow, C.R.Taylor, J.O.Moss, Paul Bradley, William Grant, J.C.Jones, B.C.Thompson, G.H.M. Giles, Chas. A.Jones, J.P.Pate, J.C.Chaffin, J.J.Barker, W.C.Ball, J.A.Morris D.A.Caviness, J.M.Barber, Robert M.Price, D.A.Clark, R.G.L.Edwards, L.V.Harris, A.L.Thompson, H.H.McLamb, Joe Roach, D.A.Lewis, Walter Greene, J.Earl Richardson, Vassar Jones, W.N.Fulford, W.B.Gregory, C.M.Triehart, and at present R.V.Mabe.

The first Missionary Society was organized in 1919 with Mrs. L.R.Sessoms, President, and Mrs. L.F.Evans, Secretary. The Woman's Society of Christian Service was organized in 1955. Officers were: President, Mrs, W.H.Moseley; Vice President, Mrs. Irene McKeel; Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. W.F.Askew; Secretary of Promotion, Mrs.Richard Peede. At present, Mrs. L.F.Evans is President and Mrs. W.F.Askew is Secretary-Treasurer.

Stewards for the church have been: L.C.Stokes, L.C.Sessoms, J.C.Britton William S.Tayloe, M.F.Parker, S.W.McKeel, C.C.Mitchell, L.R.Sessoms, Sid Tayloe, and Mrs.L.R.Sessoms.

The membership in 1956 is now 40. The Offical Board are: Sid Tayloe, Chairman; Wallace McKeel, Rawls Carter, Sid Tayloe, Jr., W.H.Moseley, Mrs. Eva McKeel, Mrs. J.A. Cowan, Mrs.Irene McKeel, Mrs. Richard Peede, Mrs. L.F. Evans, Mrs. C.T. Wynns, and Mrs. L.R. Sessoms.

Sunday School Superintendants have been: William B.Cleaton, L.C.Stokes, L.C. Sessoms, J.C.Britton, S.WWMcKeel, Mrs.L.R.Sessoms, Mrs. Eva McKeel, W.O.McKeel, and Rawls Carter. At present, Billy McKeel is serving in that capacity.

Sunday School Secretaries have been: B.F.Myers, C.A.Williams, Mary Stokes, Pelt Sessoms, Tinie Holloman, Sid Tayloe, Paul Tayloe, Harold Sessoms, J.B.McKeel, Rudolph McKeel, Sid Tayloe, Jr., Freeman Earley, Bobby Tayloe, Earl Peede, Judy McKeel, and Emily Askew. At present, Sid Tayloe is Sunday School Secretary.

Organists have been: Miss Carrie Britton, Mrs. Mollie Alston, Miss Sadie Britton, Miss Tinie Holloman, Miss Hattie Tayloe, Mrs. L.F. Evans, Miss Anna Sessoms, and Miss Viola Perry. Currently, Mrs. L.F. Evans is organist.

The information above was compiled by Mrs. L.R.Sessoms in 1956 and brought up to date by Mrs. L.F.Evans this 12th day of November, 1965.