## HISTORY OF PINEY GROVE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH -- 1982

The first building was erected on Madison Teague property on Road 1362 four miles north of Siler City, N. C. Founded in May 1850, according to local church information and a cornerstone; A preaching appointment on the Orange Circuit in 1836; Earliest deed May 1, 1860, Book A-M, Page 135. Formerly Methodist Protestant. The church received its name from many trees that surrounded it. Moved to present location in 1860, to a lot given by Matthew and Rachel Siler Cooper, under the trusteeship of Alfred Clapp, Philip Siler and William Siler. Around fifteen families, with their children, attended at this time and supported the work.

The building erected at this time was remodeled several times and Sunday School rooms were added two or three times to meet the needs. The crowds continued to be small, but began to grow as the families who attended had children and as they grew up, married, and had families of their own and remained in the community, joined and took part in the church and Sunday School.

Groundbreaking services for the present building were held on March 18, 1973, while the Rev. John D. Mitchell served here. On December 23, 1973, we held our first services in the new church. Jimmy McPherson was Superintendent of the Sunday School. The Rev. Gordon T. Hanford was pastor. This building consisted of sanctuary, vestibule, seven classrooms, two kitchenettes, three bathrooms, a small office and parlor which has folding doors to make two more classrooms, and a long hallway. The church purchased three acres of land surrounding it.

The new section of the church was part of the original plans as a possible addition when needed. The need soon became apparent. Construction began in December 1978, and was first occupied in July the following year. This new addition includes a large parlor with kitchen which may be divided into two classrooms; one class room, one bath, the pastor's study, the Sunday School office and a work room.

In 1980 the A. B. Dark family donated the three acres of land between the church and road. In 1982, the United Methodist Women planted a memorial garden on this tract in memory of the deceased members of their group. Shrubbery was donated and planted around the building by the United Methodist Youth Fellowship the same year.

The present church membership is  $\frac{170}{163}$ , with  $\frac{30}{37}$  on the preparatory roll. Sunday School membership is 165. Our pastor, the Rev. L. Jan Fogleman, has been with us since June 1980.

We have one local licensed minister in our church, Rev. L. M. Lutterloh. In earlier years two evangelists went out from the church: Rev. Fred Cooper, deceased, and Rev. C. C. McMasters, both of whom pastored in the Wesleyan Church.

(Written by Mrs. Howard McPherson)

## MINISTERS APPOINTED

## to PINEY GROVE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

The Methodist Episcopal Chruch was established on Christmas Eve, December 24, 1784 at Lovely Lane Meeting House in Baltimore, Maryland.

The Methodist Protestant Church was established in 1830, breaking with the Methodist Episcopal Church over the issue of bishops' authority. The founding conference was held at Whitaker's Chapel near Enfield, North Carolina.

Piney Grove was listed as a preaching appointment on the Orange Circuit in 1836. Local church information sets its founding date in May 1850. First located on Madison Teague property on SR 1362, it moved to its present location on May 21, 1860. Piney Grove was a Methodist Protestant Church.

The Methodist Protestant Church merged with the Methodist Episcopal Church and the Methodist Episcopal Church, South in 1939 to form the Methodist Church. In August 1964 the Methodist Church merged with the Evangelical United Brethren Church to form our present United Methodist Church.

Piney Grove was listed as part of the Chatham Charge, along with Hickory Grove, Zion, Springfield, Hope and Siler City MP (Second Methodist), in the Second Sub-District in the North Carolina Conference of the Methodist Protestant Church. Ministerial appointments are not available prior to 1893.

1893-96	W. W. Amick
1897	E. G. Lowdermilk
1898-1901	W. C. Kennett
1902	Unsupplied
1903	D. A. Highfill
1904	Unsupplied
1905	J. L. Giles
1906-07	W. D. Reed (Alamance District)
1908	C. W. Bates (charge apportionment: \$113)
1909	J. R. Hutton (lived in Greensboro)
1910-12	Jonathan H. Bowman
1913	W. A. Ledford
1914	Jonathan H. Bowman (West End established)
1915	T. E. Davis

1916	E. G. Lowdermilk
1917-19	Paul S. Kennett
1920-21	J. D. Williams
1922	Unsupplied
1923	A. D. Shelton
	Piney Grove became part of the Siler City
Circuit	with Siler City MP Church. Hickory Grove
and the	others, along with the Liberty MP Church
continue	d to be listed as the Chatham Charge.)
Si	ler City Charge (PG) Chatham Charge (HG)
1924	A. D. Shelton J. H. Bowman
1925	F. L. Gibbs J. H. Bowman
1926	F. L. Gibbs
1927	A. G. Dixon A. G. Dixon
1928	To be Supplied To be Supplied
1929	J. D. Williams (?) J. D. Williams
1930	To be Supplied A. O. Lindley
1931	To be Supplied F. R. Love
1932-33	H. L. Isley F. R. Love
1934	J. A. Burgess F. R. Love
1935	J. A. Burgess Aubert M. Smith
1936-38	Aubert M. Smith Aubert M. Smith
(In 1939:	Unification of the MP, ME and MEC,S.
Piney Gr	ove, Hickory Grove, Zion and West End were
on the S	iler City Circuit in the Fayetteville Dist.)  B. Junk Machum (magle 1940-41)  C. Freeman Heath
1939-40	C. Freeman Heath
1941-42	Ralph Reed To be Supplied Clarence L. Lewis
1943	To be supplied
	R. C. Burgin
1945-46	Carl A. Johnson
1947-48	K. F. Duvall
1949-52	John Henry Parish
1953-57	Harvey B. Johnson (Burlington District)
1958-61	Olin B. Isenhour
1962-64	Joe C. Davis
1965-66	Roger Thompson (West End became a station)
1967	John T. Ledford (PG-HG Charge with Zion)
1968-72	John D. Mitchell (1972 Sanford Dist. est'd)
1973-78	Gordon T. Hanford 1964
1979	Jonathan C. Hill
1980-	L. Jan Fogleman

