## Parkton United Methodist Church

Parkton, N. C.



## HISTORICAL SKETCH OF PARKTON UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

Parkton United Methodist Church was organized in October, 1904 by Methodist laymen of the Parkton area under the leadership of E. R. Welch, pastor of the Hope Mills Charge. It became a part of the Hope Mills Charge, Fayetteville District, North Carolina conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.

At the time the new church was organized, Hope Mills was a six-point charge made up of these churches: Camp Ground, Beaver Creek, Hope Mills, Marvin, Fishers and Sandy Grove. A few members of one or more of these churches lived in the Parkton area and joined with others in becoming charter members of the Parkton Church. The 28 charter members are listed below:

C. D. Williamson
O. L. Johnson
Mrs. Annie E. Johnson
Harriet E. McCormick
Mrs. Mary Culbreth
Gray Culbreth
Mrs. Fannie Fisher
A. J. Garris
Mrs. A. J. Garris
Lizzie Hubbard

Lula Tew
Mattie Newton
Kistler Newton
C. L. Walters
J. H. Smith
Cornelia Smith
Loyd Smith
Linus Smith
Claude Smith

Willie Smith
Almena Smith
Jessie P. Smith
J. E. Clifton
Mrs. J. E. Clifton
J. T. Bynum
M. A. Bynum
C. H. Jones
Ada Williamson McMillan

Plans were made for erecting a house of worship. Records are meager in regard to this but in the pastor's report recorded in the minutes of the Fourth Quarterly Conference, November 5, 1904, are these words:

"Have recently organized a church at Parkton which bids fair to flourish. Have at present a nice lot and about \$600 toward erecting a new church."

The lot on which the church was erected was owned by the father of the pastor,

E. R. Welch and was given to the church by him. He also owned the adjacent lot and

lived there in the house which was later sold to D. W. Marsh and burned in 1932 damaging to some extent the Methodist Church which necessitated repairs. The church is

located on the north side of Third Street, between Green and Fayetteville Streets.

No records are available as to when the church building was finished or when it was first used for a worship service. The first available minutes of a church conference state that the conference was held April 23, 1905 in the Parkton Presbyteria

HISTORY (Continued)

Church. The first record of any kind of meeting held in the new church was of November 11, 1905 so the erection of the building took place between those dates. The stewards for that year were: Charles D. Williamson, Andrew J. Garris, J. H. Smith, and J. T. Bynum.

In the Fourth Quarterly Conference minutes of October 10, 1908 are these words:

"Parkton Church has been completed and dedicated. Value, \$2000."

The Parkton Church remained a part of the Hope Mills Charge until 1912 when that charge was divided and the Parkton Charge was formed. H. L. Stack was the first pastor of the charge which was made up of the Parkton, Marvin and Sandy Grove Churches. In 1915 Hope Mills and Cotton Churches were added to the charge making it a five-point charge.

Before 1913 when Parkton was a part of the Hope Mills Charge, the pastor lived in or near Hope Mills. In 1913 a parsonage was built in Parkton. It was a small two-story wooden structure of late Victorian architecture and was painted white. It was located on North Green Street adjacent to the south side of the Parkton School property and was built under the leadership of the first pastor, E. L. Stack. Much of the lumber used in the construction was sawed from logs cut and hauled to the sawmill and donated by Thomas Jefferson Edwards, father of Felix and Chalmers Edwards. Much of the construction work was done by the pastor himself. It was used as a parsonage until 1924 when it was sold to Mr. E. D. Gaitley, for \$2000 and the proceeds used toward the erection of the present parsonage, another two-story wooden structure that was much larger and more modern. It is located on the west side of Fayetteville Street on Lot 20 in Block A as recorded on the map of Parkton.

The first pastor to live in the new parsonage was J. C. Humble and the last was D. L. Budd in 1968. Since that time it has either been vacant or rented as the last two pastors have lived in their own homes in Fayetteville.

## HISTORY (Continued)

The church sanctuary has been changed very little through the years. It has been kept in good repair, having been redecorated inside and out several times. In 1918, the building which was erected very close to the street, as was customary at the turn of the century, was moved farther back from the street. Until 1919 both the church and the parsonage were lit with oil burning lamps. In that year an electric plant was purchased for lighting both buildings.

During the depression years very little was done toward improvement, but in the late thirties an improvement program was started and continued that updated both buildings in keeping with the times. In 1956 a Hammond electric organ was installed in the church and in 1965 a Wurlitzer piano was presented by Louise Sykes Woodall in memory of her mother, Mrs. D. A. Sykes, and her husband Guy F. Woodall.

In 1963 stained glass windows were installed and dedicated in loving memory of the following deceased members: Daniel J. and Danny Barlow; Thomas C. Lewis and Lula Jernigan Lewis; John F. Lewis, Charles D. Williamson and A. B. Williamson Family; the Reverend Charles B. Long, E. B. Daniel, George McLamb Family, Robert B. Hutson, Neill Archibald McMillan. A window was also given in honor of the Reverend and Mrs. Adrian E. Brown. A window memorializing Susan McCormick was installed when the church was built.

The Parkton Charge remained a five-point charge from 1915 until 1961. In 1952

Hope Mills was removed and Parkers, a Hoke County church, was added. In 1961 Cotton and Parkers were removed, leaving the Parkton Charge with the same three churches that constituted it in 1905. After one year the charge was dissolved and Parkton was made a station to be served by ministerial students. The first one to serve was John Kern Ormond, Jr. of Methodist College. The church was served by student pastors until 1969. Since then the church has been served by part-time lay pastors.

## HISTORY (Continued)

Ministers who have served Parkton United Methodist Church since its beginning and the year of appointment are:

E.	R. Welch	1904	M. C. Ellerbe	1937
	J. Dailey	1905	Kirby Duval	1939
	H. Sutton	1906	A. E. Brown	1940
	D. Pegram	1909	W. B. Cotton	1945
	M. McDonald	1910	I. J. Strawbridge	1949
E.	L. Stack	1911	N. P. Edens	1951
н.	B. Porter	1913	C. B. Long	1956
W.	L. Maness	1917	W. R. Johnson	1960
R.	F. Munns	1921	S. T. Kimbrough	1961
J.	C. Humble	1923	L. W. Buttorff	1962
J.	J. Boone	1925	J. K. Ormond, Jr.	1963
J.	E. Blalock	1927	R. R. Warren	1964
R.	G. L. Edwards	1931	John Rutland	1968 (6 mos.)
C.	T. Thrift	1934	D. L. Budd	1968
C.	P. Womack	1935	W. E. Smith	1969
			J. E. McLendon	1973

As The Methodist Episcopal Church, South merged with other churches that shared a common historical and spiritual heritage, the Parkton church has become a connectional part of an ever widening community of believers. On May 30, 1939, The Methodist Protestant Church, The Methodist Episcopal Church, and The Methodist Episcopal Church, South united to form THE METHODIST CHURCH. Unification took place again in 1968 when The Methodist Church and the Evangelical United Brethern formed THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH.

Statistical support of its mission for Christ rests in the records which show that Parkton United Methodist Church - a small church in a small community - has received into full membership since its organization in 1904, 654 members. Its present membership is 103.

Committee on Records and History
Rhoda Holden McMillan