History Of Parker's Church, Corapeake, North Capolina

425

Parkers Church is one of the oldest in Gates County. The original church dates back to 1813. The church history reveals that, prior to this date , Bishop Asbury, on trips through the county, preached at the home of Thomas Parker. As a result of continued religious services in the Parker home, people in the community felt a needfor a place of worship.

Thomas Parker gave the land on which the church was built. It was called Parker's Church in honor of its founder. In 1877 a new church was erected, but three years later the building was completely destroyed by fire . A new building was erected the same year.

During the pastorate of the Rev. B.P.Robinson , 1908-1911the church was completely renovated; and under the leadership of the next pastor , Dr. T. M. Grant, the indebtedness was paid offlin 1913. Dedication Sermon was delivered by Bishop Collins Denny.

The new addition to the church , built in 1953, consisted of a nursery ,two rest rooms , a kitchen , and an assembly hall with a seating capacity of 100 cople was begun in the fall of 1952 and completed in the fall of 1953 at an approximate cost of \$12,000.00. Members of the building committee were : John S. Kittrell, chairman ; R.S.Jones, G.P. Kittrell, chairmanof finance and Mrs. H. L. Barnes, Treasurer .

It was through the splendid cooperation of this committee 6 and scores of friends who here and the loyal support of the members only supported the church by their sentiments , but by numerous contributions: as well; that this educational building was made possible.

200

The educational building of Parker's Church was dedicated on Sunday, August ,22, 1954 at the 11 o'clock service. Bishop Paul N. Garber delivered the message and conducted the dedicatory rites, assisted by the pastor, the Rev. F. J. Duplissey.

The pastors serving the charge and the state as following;:

C. W. Robinson G. W. Starling H. M. Jackson W. N. Brown EF N. Harrison B. P. Robinson T. M. Grant V. A. Royall S. T. Moyle J. C. Whedbee J. O. Long . B. O. Merritt J.T. Stanford C. D. Barcliff J. A. Daily W. N. Vaughan T. J. Whitehead C.W. Gutherie W. J. Freeman R. T. Commander L. F. Harris W. E. Wilson F. J. Duplissey W. H. Worth Pearce (W. E.) Bill Picket (W. E.) E. E. Edmonds M. L. DeHart , Jr. is our present pastor W. O. Connor