By Edurin L. Key

BRIEF HISTORY OF MT. PLEASANT CHURCH

Mt. Pleasant Church was established in 1780 according to information furnished by Mr. A. S. McCormack. The original building stood about 200 yards from and directly in front of the present structure. Mr. James Thomas gave seven acres of land for the church site.

The old building continued to be used until 1883. In September of that year the building was sold to Mr. Joe Capel for 50.00. In October the same year the present building was begun. Mr. Capel erected it letting the work be applied as payment for the lumber in the old building.

No valid information concerning the activities of the church during its early existence has been found. It is not certain that the church belonged to any conference before 1827. However tradition leads one to believe that some of the great preachers of the time preached there and stirred the people as only preachers of the emotional type can do.

From 1827 to 1844 Mt. Pleasant belonged to the Montgomery Circui The circuit riders during those years were:

1827- D. Low and William Lackson

1828- Z. McPherson and G. W. Daniels

1829- J. M. Kelly and G. W. Davis

1830- A. McTherson and William Richardson

1831- Penn Bell and Allen McCorqudale

1832- J. Covington and S. Bosman

1833- A. Brown and B. Thompson

1834- M. C. McTurrantine and S. Laney

1835- David D. Derrick and M. Russell

1836- David D. Derrick and T. Daniels

1837- W. Holliday and M. Russell

1838- T. L. Young and A. Huckman

1839- B. I. Boseman and W. McSwain

1841- C. Smith and Nathan Bird

1842- J. H. Chandler and S. W. Davis

1843- J. M. Bradley and J. Parker

were changed to the Rockingham Circuit. Both of these circuits were then in the South Carolina Conference, which extended from Mt. Gilead North Carolina to Georgetown, South Carolina. Mt. Pleasant remained in the Rockingham Circuit until 1902. The preachers serving during that long period were:

1844- Lock O'Neal

1845- Michael Robbins and Robert J. Limehouse

1846- Henry M. Durant

1847- Marcus A. McKibbon

1848- Dennis J. Simmons 1849- James W. Whightman 1850- John A. Porter 1851- E. E. Freeman 1853-54= S. D. Adams 1855-56- Lemon Shell 1857- Peter Dauband T.L. Triplet 1858- Peter Daub and George W. Hepcast 1859-60-Ira T. Wyche 1861-62-James Tillett 1863-64-H. H. Gibbons 1865-66-S. D. Adams 1867-68-Joseph Wheeler 1869-71- T. W. Guthrie 1872-75- Joseph Wheeler 1876-77- J. R. Jenkins 1878- Jospeh Wheeler 1879-80- P. Greening 1881- S. C. Pharr 1882- S. C. Caffin 1883-84- W. S. Hales 1885-88-F.L. Townsend 1889- D. A. Futrel 1890-92- H. G. Stamey 1893- A. D. Betts 1894-97- J. M.Lowder 1898-99- T. S. Ethridge (Ethridge) 1900-01-N. H. Guyton

In 1902 the Rockingham Circuit underwent certain changes, and Mt. Pleasant and Green Lake were transferred to the Roberdell Charge. Mt. Pleasant remained in that circuit until 1911. The preachers were:

1902- J. W. Gurganious 1903- Z. T. Harrison 1904-07- A. J. Groves 1908-10- J. M. Ashby

In 1911 Mt. Pleasant and Ellorbe were combined to form the Ellerbe Charge. The experiment lasted only two years. Mr. Watkins was the pastor during the first year and Mr. C. C. Brothers was partor the second year. At the end of the second year both chruches were placed back in the Roberdell Charge and there remained until 1915. Mr. S. J. McConnell served the church during these two years. The curcuit was again changed and Mt. Pleasant, Ellerbe, Norman, Concord, Jones Springs and Bethel were placed in Ellerbe Charge. All except Bethel, which ceased to function several years ago, are still in the Ellerbe Circuit. The pastors were:

1915- B. F. Watson 1916- M. E. Cotton 1917-18- G. H. Biggs 1919-23- N. B. Johnson 1924-28- W. F. Traywick 1929- Mr. Lance 1930-32- J. C. Whedbee 1933- D. A. Pety

It was stated at the beginning of this article that Mr. James Thomas gave seven acres of land for the church site. He failed to give a deed for the property but excepted the plat in his will to his son Mr. W. J. Thomas.

In 1918 the heirs of Mr. W. J. Thomas deeded three and one tenth acres of land to the trustees of the church. One acre contains the old cemetary and the remainder surr unds the building.

The writer is indebted to Mr. J. W. Capel, Mr. A. S. McCormack, and August 3 and 17, 1933, issues of the Rockingham Post-Dispatch for the information contained in this article.

Pastors since this article appeared in Setpember 1933:

1935- K. F. Duvall

1939- J. D. Young and Mr. Brown, Supply

1942- J. W. Dimmette

1946- C. T. Thrift

1948- W. J. Neese

1953- J, K. Boxtick

1957- J. A. Wagnon

1959- J. D. Aycock 1962- Roger Garland

1964- J. Robert Regan

1966- W. F. Meacham

1975 - Kalah Hill 1976 - Wayne Thomas 1977 - Leorge Marsh 1982 - James Caviness