MAPLE GROVE METHODIST CHURCH Route 5. Dunn, N.C.

It was in the year 1916, that Rev. Tasso W. Siler, the pastor of the Newton Grove Methodist Charge of the Fayetteville district, came to the Maple Grove community to visit some of the people. There being no church in the community, and the people wanting a place to worship, Rev. Siler was asked to preach a revival at the Maple Grove school house. There were 8 persons who accepted Christ at this meeting and others came by letter who were the charter members of Maple Grove Church. They were: Lona Jackson, Ada Raynor, Sudie Raynor, Cora Westbrook, Flora Westbrook, John Keen, Oscar Pierce, June West, Mittie Godwin, Janie Maynard, Bermie Blackman, Viola West, and Almond West. These people along with Rev. Siler met at the Maple Grove School house on December 4,1916 and organized the Maple Grove Church.

These are the words quoted by Rev. Siler from the first Conference book of the Maple Grove Church. "I, T.W. Siler, pastor of the church, do hereby certify that I have this 4th day of December 1916 organized the Maple Grove Church. Above named, believing it to be God's will and by the vote of attending citizens a Methodist Church being desired, also seeing the imperative need of same, in the fear of God and love for Him and my fellowmen, I have thus proceeded with cooperation of the brothers and sisters as these minutes will show to organize and do look to God for success in the name of the Father and of the Holy Ghost. Amen" Fraternally, Tasso W. Siler.

Of the 13 charter members, 5 are still living: Cora Westbrook, Sudie Raynor Wooten, Ada Raynor Hudson, Janie Maynard, and Bermie Blackman Hargrove.

During the year of 1917 services and Sunday School were held in the school house with June West as Superintendent and Steward and Oscar Pierce as first secretary.

On the 12th day of April 1917 Mrs. Arkansas West gave a deed for 1 acre of ground on which to build a church. Then came the question of material and labor and where they were to come from. Here we truly have an example of people working together for a purpose. They gave the materials and money, then gathered together to erect the building themselves. Rev. Siler, having been a contractor before entering the ministry, drew the plans and guided the people in their work. The building was completed and the 1st quarterly Conference was held in the new church December 2,1917.

As the years have passed there have been 18 ministers. They are: T.W.Siler, J.L.Midgette, G.H.Biggs, S.W.Phillips, W.J. Underwood, W.B.Humble, J.F.Starnes, L.A.Tilley, J.A.Daily, W.B. Cotton, R.L.Hethcox, T.H.House, McDonald McLamb, Charles Tilley, J.A.Cooper, J.C.Martinson, C.H.Beale, and A.B.Falls, Jr.

During the 49 years that the church has been established there have been 6 superintendents of the Sunday School. They are: June West, J.F. Maynard, Mrs. Lola Hudson, Bert Blackman, Wayne Williams, and Dalton Herring. Mr. Bert Blackman served for

approximately 30 years.

In 1918 land was secured for burial purposes from Herman Wooten. It was known as the R.H.McLean land.

There have been improvements made from time to time to the sanctuary. A fellowship hall has been erected independent of the main building and a wall placed around the cemetery.

To meet the financial need for this work, there has been the Lord's Acre project, sponsoring of suppers, and liberal donations from members and friends of the church. The foundation for more class rooms and bath room facilities has been laid and will be completed in the near future.

From the original 13 charter members on roll we now have increased to 116.