History of Jerusalem United Methodist Church

According to the best sources available.

Jerusalem Church was founded around 1890 according to local church history. The earliest deed is dated October 25, 1887. It is interesting to note that the conveyers of the deed had a reversion clause stating, "if any one of the officials are convicted of selling any intoxicating liquors on the premises during the lifetime of the grantors and their children, the land will revert to the original owners." The trustees at that time were Joseph Hasty, Archy Morrison, Benjamin Lytch, Albert B. McQueen, A.G. McEachin, Wesley McCallum, David McCallum, Peter McRae and Sarus McQueen. The present structure was built in 1966.

Jerusalem has continued to grow over the years spiritually and in membership.

Former pastors and years served are as follows:

1890 - Rev. George W. Byers

1892 - Rev. W. H. Hairstian

1894 - Rev. M. M. Jones

1921 - Rev. Robert James Shipp

1925 - Rev. H. A. Davis

1936 - Rev. Ira A. Friend

1940 - Rev. Charles G. Bynum

1941 - Rev. Prince William Webb

1943 - Rev. Oscar W. Burwick

1944 - Rev. George W. Patterson

1947 - Rev. James Franklin Sawyer

1954 - Rev. Edward Morton McLeod

1956 - Rev. James H. McCallum

1961 - Rev. Jefferson McCallum

1963 - Rev. Dungee

1964 - Rev. Robert McRae

1966 - Rev. Samuel L. Townsend

1972 - Rev. James William Gamble

1976 - Rev. Oscar M. Graham

1980 - Rev. Willie Gholston

1980 - Rev. Oscar M. Graham

1980 - 1990 Rev. Emma R. McLean

1983 - Rev. James H. McCallum

1984 - Rev. Robert A. Fairley