

Dover United Methodist Church Dover, North Carolina

1986-87 Directory of Dover United Methodist Church

Post Office Box 188 Dover, North Carolina

Richard Stanley, Jr., Pastor Church Telephone 523-9938

1

THE HISTORY OF THE DOVER UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was organized in Dover, North Carolina in 1891 by The Reverend J. G. Johnson. He was pastor of the Craven Circuit and lived in Cove City. In 1891 he organized the Dover and Bethany congregations, and buildings were erected in 1891 and 1892.

At Dover the trustees traded one acre of land on West Street behind the present Post Office, to Mr. & Mrs. Frank Outlaw for one acre of land where the present church and parsonage is located. The land that was traded had some kind of structure and a Methodist Episcopal Church, South, congregation met there before 1891. A white frame structure was erected and named Johnson's Chapel in honor of their new pastor. In later years the church's name was changed to Dover Methodist Church.

The Dover Church remained on the Craven Circuit until 1902 when, at the Wilmington Conference, the Dover Circuit was formed. This circuit had six churches: Dover, Bethany, Woodington, Webbs, Beulah and East Kinston. In 1908 Lane's Chapel and in 1909 Asbury Churches were added to the circuit.

When the Dover Circuit was formed in 1902 a parsonage was built that housed the minister and his family until 1962. The old two story frame house was sold and moved across the street. The new seven room, bath and a half, brick parsonage was completed by April 1, 1962 and paid for by Christmas 1965. On June 5, 1966 the present parsonage was dedicated.

In 1921 the Dover Charge consisted of Dover, Asbury, Bethany, Cove City (Epworth) and Lane's Chapel, but in 1928 the Cove City Church was closed since Tuscarora was added to the charge. In 1955 Bethany was transferred to the Kingston Circuit. In 1958 Dover and Lane's Chapel became a two point charge and remained so until 1962. At that time Dover became a station church until 1970. In 1970 Asbury and Tuscarora were reunited with the Dover Charge with a senior pastor and an associate pastor. In 1978 Dover once again became a station church. In 1983 Dover and Clarks were united to make the new Dover-Clarks Charge.

Over the years as the membership grew and needs increased, the original structure changed. In 1924 four Sunday School classrooms were built. The heating system changed from coal to gas to electric and now electric and gas. Sidewalks were added in 1954 and 1984. A fellowship/ education building was begun in 1956 and completed in 1959. The fellowship/education building with a kitchen and two restrooms was dedicated on July 3, 1960 by District Superintendent, A. J. Hobbs.

From 1963 to 1975 the Sanctuary was renovated with paneling, carpeting, air conditioing, aluminum siding, pews and windows. Our newest addition is a twenty-seven foot spire with a four foot cross.

Many gifts have been contributed toward the use and beautification of the church as memorials to faithful members who have served the church so willingly during their lives. The Women's work was organized in 1895 as the "Ladies Aid". In 1926 the name was changed to the "Missionary Society" and then in 1940 to "The Women's Society of Christian Service". In 1968 when the Methodist Church merged with The Evangelical United Brethren Church and became The United Methodist Church, the women's society is known as "The United Methodist Women". This society gave the first Communion Service Set consisting of silver font, pitcher, goblet and bread plate.

"The Methodist Men" was organized on September 12, 1958 with the twenty-one charter members. These two organizations have been very faithful in various works in the church, donating time and money to many needs in the church and local community.

The Dover Methodist Church has had a Sunday School for many years. Records do not tell us when the Sunday School was founded nor who was the first superintendent. The following have served as Sunday School Superintendents:

A. S. Dixon, Vass Richardson, W. L. Bell	1916-35
J. P. Arnold	1936-63
Lester White	1963-75
Charles Barrow	1976-79
Ralph Flowers	1980-84
Rena Humphrey	1985-

Dover is indebted to the ministers who have served us so faithfully. The following is a list of these devoted ministers and dates of their service:

J. G. Johnson	1891-93
A. L. Ormond	1894-95
D. C. Geddie	1896-97
J. W. Crowson	1897-98
C. O. Durant	1898-1900
W. H. Townsend	1901-02
T. W. Mansfield	1902-03
J. M. Carroway	1904-05
W. A. Forbes	1906-07
W. F. Galloway	1907-08
M. W. Dargan	1908-12
L. B. Pattishell	1912-14

	1011 17
F. B. Noblitt	1914-17
J. B. Pate	1917-20
(died 5/18/20)	
F. E. Dixon	1920
S. A. Nettles	1921-22
E. B. Bell	1922-25
R. E. Atkinson	1925-28
C. A. Jones	1928-29
L. E. Sawyer	1929-33
E. L. Hill	1933-37
E. H. Measamer	1937-38
R. N. Fitts	1938-40
H. L. Harrell	1940-43
M. E. Tyson	1943-45
R. H. Lewis	1945-49
D. C. Bone BOONE	1949-50
W. R. Crowder	1950-54
H. B. Jones	1954-57
R. R. Blankenhorn	1957-58
J. C. Parker	1958-62
L. A. Lewis	1962
(retired 9/62)	
R. E. Pack	1962-66
P. C. Yelverton	1966-70
J. C. Parker	1970-75
E. O. Murray	1975-76
	1976-78
H. G. Quigley	
H. F. Horne	1978-83
R. A. Stanley, Jr.	1983-

Associate Ministers: H. G. Crary 1970-Feb. 72, Carl Eller Feb.-June 1972, Harold Elliott 1972-78.